Perspectives Musiques thanks its Partners 2023/24


FR 8 MAR 2024

Salle Faller
La Chaux-de-Fonds

Marc Pantillon piano

Christophe Pantillon cello

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Twelve variations for cello and piano
on a theme by Handel, from the oratorio
« Judas Maccabée » (1796)

Ludwig van Beethoven
Sonata for cello and piano in A major, Op. 69

Richard Strauss (1864-1949)
Sonata for cello and piano in F major, Op. 6

Concert without pause.
Scheduled to finish around 9pm.

When music touches the universal

To get in tune with spring, Perspectives Musiques invites you to a concert in a major key.

« See the conquering hero comes ». Handel’s oratorio Judas Maccabaeus celebrates a military victory, hence the triumphal character of the theme on which Beethoven composes his twelve variations. But above all extra-musical considerations, whether in his variations or in the great sonata that follows, Beethoven writes here pages carried by a humanism and universality that are more essential than ever.

Almost 25 years ago, in the year 2000, Christophe and Marc Pantillon played Beethoven’s first three sonatas for cello and piano, including the great Opus 69. This was at the Chapelle catholique chrétienne, rue de la Chapelle in La Chaux-de-Fonds, in a series then called “Les concerts de la Chapelle”. Shortly before, pianist Edith Fischer performed a memorable complete set of Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas at the Salle de Musique. She will be in concert at the Salle Faller on June 8. The planets seem to be aligned. Marc Pantillon and Edith Fischer share the same passion for the Master of Bonn, to whom they devote an unbounded love. They both unquestionably belong to the line of great Beethovenians.

Richard Strauss composed his sonata Op. 6 at the age of 19. There’s Schumann here, of course. Yet we can already sense an independent spirit, elegance, capriciousness, a more daring way of modulating, all traits that will place the composer among the greatest. Marc is particularly fond of the young Strauss, and in Op. 6, as in the Lieder, he rediscovers the passion of Don Juan, a symphonic poem written a few years later by the German composer.

On the first manuscript of the Sonata in F major, Richard Strauss added a line by the Austrian poet Franz Grillparzer, which reads in essence:

Music, the eloquent,
is at the same time silent.
Keeping quiet about the individual,
She gives us the whole universe.

This is the very first time that Christophe and Marc have played this masterpiece together. It’s highly likely that we’ll perceive, that we’ll receive this deep understanding between brothers, this shared breath, this moving communion at the time of their reunion.

Cancellation of concert on April 16, 2024
SERENADE-Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra

Dear Audience,

Due to an unfavorable situation that no longer allows the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra to perform under the best possible conditions, we are forced, to our great regret and despite all our previous efforts, to cancel the April 16 concert.

We apologize for the inconvenience and look forward to seeing you at the Salle Faller of the Conservatoire de musique neuchâtelois, avenue Léopold-Robert 34 in La Chaux-de-Fonds, on Friday March 8 (Christophe & Marc Pantillon, cello and piano) and Saturday June 8 (Edith Fischer, piano).

Thank you for your understanding and trust.

Best regards,

Perspectives Musiques