Thomas Dunford,
lute

“Thomas Dunford’s flexible technique, combined with his passion for jazz, allows him to approach scores with improvisational abandon, shedding new light on early music… A true ‘Eric Clapton’ of the lute.” Kate Bolton, BBC Magazine

Born in Paris in 1988, Thomas Dunford was unanimously awarded first prize at the Conservatoire Supérieur de Paris (CNR) in 2006. He completed his studies at the Schola Cantorum in Basel and has participated in numerous masterclasses.

From September 2003 to January 2005, Thomas made his debut playing the role of the lutenist in Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night at the Comédie Française. Since then, Thomas has given recitals at Carnegie Hall and the Frick Collection in New York, Wigmore Hall in London, Washington Kennedy Center, Vancouver recital society, Cal Performances at Berkeley, Banff center, Palau de la Musica in Barcelona, Concertgebouw Bruges, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Konzerthaus Vienna, Saintes, Utrecht, Maguelone, Froville, TAP Poitiers, WDR Cologne, Radio France Montpellier, Saffron Hall. He regularly appears as a soloist or in ensemble in the most prestigious European festivals such as Ambronay, Arques La Bataille, Bozar, La Chaise-Dieu, Nantes, Saintes, Utrecht, and others. He has also performed in Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, England, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Israel, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United States.

His first solo CD “Lachrimae” for the French label Alpha in 2012 unanimously acclaimed by the critics, was awarded the Caecilia Prize 2013, BBC magazine calling him the “Eric Clapton of the lute”. His second CD “Labirinto d’Amore” was awarded the “Choc” by Classica. His third CD of Bach suites for lute was awarded the “Editors choice” by Gramophone and a “Choc” by Classica.

His extensive discography includes music by John Dowland with Jeni Melia and Christopher Goodwin. Four recordings with La Capella Mediterranea: a CD of Barbara Strozzi, Falvetti’s Il Diluvio Universale and Nabucco and a work by Zamponi; Handel’s Samson with Millenium Orchestra, two CDs of works by Farina and Romero with the Clématis Ensemble, violin sonatas with Monica Hugget; two CDs with Julien Léonard : Forqueray and Dowland; Lachrimae with Musical Humors; Vivaldi with Nicola Benedetti; three CDs of Vivaldi with La Serenissima; three CDs with A 2 Violes Esgales : Bacilly, Ferrabosco and Marais; Praetorius with Cappricio Stravagante; four CDs of Zelenka, Fasch, bassoon arias and Handel with Marsyas; eleven recordings with Arcangelo including Guadani arias with countertenor Iestyn Davies, Handel arias with Chris Perves, soprano arias with Anna Prohaska, Monteverdi madrigals, Couperin’s Leçons de ténèbres, Charpentier’s Leçons de ténèbres, Couperin’s Les Concerts Royaux, two recordings of Buxtehude’s Triosonates and Handel’s Brockes passion, Charpentier’s Litanies and Magnificat; Four recordings with Pygmalion : Bach’s Messes brêves, La messe en Si, Trauerode and Motets; Geoffroy with harpsichordist Aurélien Delage; Baroque and jazz arias with soprano Jody Pou; Dowland with countertenor Jean Michel Fumas; Renaissance composer Attaignant with Pierre Gallon; an English manuscript with La Sainte Folie Fantastique; a duet CD of Dowland with Iestyn Davies; 17th Italian cornet repertoire with La Fenice; four CDs with Les Arts Florissants : three CDs of Airs sérieux et à boire, Monteverdi’s 7th book of Madrigals; Bach flute suites with Les Musiciens de Saint Julien, Purcell and Charpentier with Chantal Santon; Gesualdo’s 6th book of Madrigals with Philippe Herreweghe, Rasi and Monteverdi with I Gemelli, Barricades with Jean Rondeau and Mad Lover with Théotime Langlois de Swarte…

Thomas Dunford is regularly invited to perform with Les Arts Florissants, Akadêmia, Amarillis, Les Ambassadeurs, Arcangelo, La Cappella Mediterranea, Capriccio Stravagante, Le Centre de Musique Baroque de Versailles, La Chapelle Rhénane, Clématis, Collegium Vocale Gent, Le Concert Spirituel, Le Concert d’Astrée, A 2 Violes Esgales, Dunedin Consort, and the English baroque soloists, The English Concert, l’Ensemble Baroque de Limoges, La Fenice, Les Folies Francaises, the Irish Baroque Orchestra, Marsyas, the Monteverdi Choir, Les Musiciens du Louvre, Les Musiciens du Paradis, Les Musiciens de Saint Julien, Les Ombres, Pierre Robert, Pygmalion, La Sainte Folie Fantastique, Scherzi Musicali, La Serenissima, Les Siècles, the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, La Symphonie du Marais…

Thomas Dunford is attracted to a wide variety of musical genres, including jazz, and has collaborated with Paul Agnew, Leonardo Garcia Alarcon, Nicolas Alstaedt, Cecilia Bartoli, Nicola Benedetti, Kristian Bezuidenhout, Keyvan Chemirani, William Christie, Jonathan Cohen, Christophe Coin, Iestyn Davies, Gérard Depardieu, Lea Desandre, Sabine Devieilhe, Joyce Didonato, Isabelle Faust, Bobby McFerrin, John Eliot Gardiner, Emmanuelle Haïm, Philippe Herreweghe, Lucie Horsch, Monica Hugget, Alexis Kosenko, Théotime Langlois de Swarte, Francois Lazarévitch, Anne-Sophie von Otter, Trevor Pinnock, Patricia Petibon, Sandrine Piau, Anna Prohaska, Hugo Reyne, Anna Reinhold, Jean Rondeau, Skip Sempé, Jordi Savall, Jean Tubéry, Doug Balliett? He has played in several duos with With the harpsichordist Jean Rondeau, with the mezzo-soprano Lea Desandre or with the countertenor Iestyn Davies.

In 2018, at the age of 30, Thomas Dunford created his ensemble Jupiter where he invited extraordinary musicians and soloists he met during his many years of touring around the world.

Their multi-award-winning debut recording of Vivaldi was released by Alpha in 2019. Their upcoming projects include a program around Handel with Iestyn Davies and Lea Desandre, a program around Monteverdi and “Amazone”, a French-Italian recital program with Lea Desandre, to be released in the fall of 2021 by Erato. Jupiter has already been programmed in the most important concert halls in Europe and the United States: Philharmonie de Paris, Philharmonie de Berlin, Auditorium Radio-France, ElbPhilharmonie Hamburg, Carnegie Hall in New York, Wigmore Hall in London, Easter Festival in Aix-en-Provence…

For the 2021 – 2022 season, Thomas Dunford will be on tour in the United States in March with Jupiter (Los Angeles, San Francisco, San Diego, Washington, Carnegie Hall in New York…). In October, he will be at the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg, in December in Japan, at the Oji Hall in Tokyo, in May at the Palau in Barcelona. He will also be on tour with the flutist Lucie Horsch, and in June he will be at the Wigmore Hall in London and in La Chaux-de-Fonds in Switzerland for a duo with Jean Rondeau.

Thomas Dunford is fond of many musical genres, particularly jazz, and has been working in chamber music projects with conductors and soloists such as Paul Agnew, Leonardo Garcia Alarcon, Nicola Benedetti, Keyvan Chemirani, William Christie, Jonathan Cohen, Christophe Coin, Iestyn Davies, Lea Desandre, Isabelle Faust, Bobby McFerrin, Philippe Herreweghe, Monica Huggett, Alexis Kosenko, Francois Lazarévitch, Anne-Sophie von Otter, Trevor Pinnock, Patricia Petibon, Sandrine Piau, Anna Prohaska, Hugo Reyne, Anna Reinhold, Jean Rondeau, Skip Sempé, Jean Tubéry… He also very regularly performs with hapsichordist Jean Rondeau, mezzo-soprano Lea Desandre and counter-tenor Iestyn Davies.

Thomas Dunford est attiré par une grande variété de genres musicaux, dont le jazz, et a collaboré avec Paul Agnew, Leonardo Garcia Alarcon, Nicolas Alstaedt, Cecilia Bartoli, Nicola Benedetti, Kristian Bezuidenhout, Keyvan Chemirani, William Christie, Jonathan Cohen, Christophe Coin, Iestyn Davies, Gérard Depardieu, Lea Desandre, Sabine Devieilhe, Joyce Didonato, Isabelle Faust, Bobby McFerrin, John Eliot Gardiner, Emmanuelle Haïm, Philippe Herreweghe, Lucie Horsch, Monica Hugget, Alexis Kosenko, Théotime Langlois de Swarte, Francois Lazarévitch, Anne-Sophie von Otter, Trevor Pinnock, Patricia Petibon, Sandrine Piau, Anna Prohaska, Hugo Reyne, Anna Reinhold, Jean Rondeau, Skip Sempé, Jordi Savall, Jean Tubéry, Doug Balliett ? Il a joué dans plusieurs duos avec Avec le claveciniste Jean Rondeau, avec la mezzo-soprano Lea Desandre ou avec le contre-ténor Iestyn Davies.

Photographic credits:
© Stéfan Brion

Thomas Dunford,
luth

« La technique souple de Thomas Dunford, alliée à sa passion pour le jazz, lui permet d’approcher les partitions avec l’abandon de l’improvisation, jetant ainsi un nouvel éclairage sur la musique ancienne… Un véritable “Eric Clapton” du luth. » Kate Bolton, BBC Magazine

Né à Paris en 1988, Thomas Dunford obtient en 2006 le premier prix à l’unanimité au Conservatoire Supérieur de Paris (CNR). Il a terminé ses études à la Schola Cantorum de Bâle et a participé à de nombreuses masterclasses.

De septembre 2003 à janvier 2005, Thomas fait ses débuts en jouant le rôle du luthiste dans la pièce Twelfth Night de Shakespeare à la Comédie Française. Depuis, Thomas a donné des récitals au Carnegie Hall et à la Frick Collection de New York, au Wigmore Hall de Londres, au Washington Kennedy Center, à la Vancouver recital society, au Cal Performances de Berkeley, au Banff center, au Palau de la Musica de Barcelone, au Concertgebouw de Bruges, au Concertgebouw d’Amsterdam, au Konzerthaus de Vienne, à Saintes, à Utrecht, à Maguelone, à Froville, au TAP de Poitiers, à WDR Cologne, à Radio France Montpellier, au Saffron Hall. Il se produit régulièrement en tant que soliste ou en ensemble dans les plus prestigieux festivals européens tels que Ambronay, Arques La Bataille, Bozar, La Chaise-Dieu, Nantes, Saintes, Utrecht, etc. Il s’est également produit dans les pays suivants : Allemagne, Angleterre, Australie, Autriche, Belgique, Brésil, Chili, Chine, Colombie, Danemark, Écosse, Espagne, Estonie, États-Unis, Grèce, Hongrie, Inde, Israël, Irlande, Italie, Japon, Lettonie, Liban, Lituanie, Mexique, Norvège, Pays-Bas, Pologne, République tchèque, Roumanie, Russie, Slovaquie, Suède et Suisse.

Son premier CD solo “Lachrimae” pour le label français Alpha en 2012 salué unanimement par la critique, a reçu le prix Caecilia 2013, BBC magazine le qualifiant de “Eric Clapton du luth”. Son deuxième CD “Labirinto d’Amore” a reçu le “Choc” de Classica. Son troisième CD de suites de Bach pour luth a reçu le “Editors choice” de Gramophone et un “Choc” de Classica.

Sa vaste discographie comprend la musique de John Dowland avec Jeni Melia et Christopher Goodwin. Quatre enregistrements avec La Capella Mediterranea : un CD de Barbara Strozzi, Il Diluvio Universale et Nabucco de Falvetti et une œuvre de Zamponi ; Samson de Handel avec Millenium Orchestra, deux CD d’œuvres de Farina et Romero avec l’Ensemble Clématis, des sonates pour violon avec Monica Hugget ; deux CD avec Julien Léonard : Forqueray et Dowland ; Lachrimae avec Musical Humors; Vivaldi avec Nicola Benedetti ; trois CD de Vivaldi avec La Serenissima ; trois CD avec A 2 Violes Esgales : Bacilly, Ferrabosco et Marais ; Praetorius avec Cappricio Stravagante ; quatre CD de Zelenka, Fasch, arias pour basson et Handel avec Marsyas ; onze enregistrements avec Arcangelo comprenant des arias de Guadani avec le contre-ténor Iestyn Davies, des arias de Haendel avec Chris Perves, des arias pour soprano avec Anna Prohaska, des madrigaux de Monteverdi, les Leçons de ténèbres de Couperin, les Leçons de ténèbres de Charpentier, les Concerts Royaux de Couperin, deux enregistrements des Triosonates de Buxtehude et de la Passion de Brockes de Haendel, les Litanies et le Magnificat de Charpentier ; Quatre enregistrements avec Pygmalion : Messes brêves, La messe en Si, Trauerode et Motets de Bach ; Geoffroy avec le claveciniste Aurélien Delage ; des arias baroques et jazz avec la soprano Jody Pou ; Dowland avec le contre-ténor Jean Michel Fumas ; le compositeur de la Renaissance Attaignant avec Pierre Gallon ; un manuscrit anglais avec La Sainte Folie Fantastique ; un CD de Dowland en duo avec Iestyn Davies ; le répertoire italien du 17ème cornet avec La Fenice ; quatre CD avec Les Arts Florissants : trois CD d’Airs sérieux et à boire, le 7e livre de madrigaux de Monteverdi ; des suites pour flûte de Bach avec Les Musiciens de Saint Julien, Purcell et Charpentier avec Chantal Santon ; le 6e livre de madrigaux de Gesualdo avec Philippe Herreweghe, Rasi et Monteverdi avec I Gemelli, Barricades avec Jean Rondeau et Mad Lover avec Théotime Langlois de Swarte…

Thomas Dunford est régulièrement invité à se produire avec Les Arts Florissants, Akadêmia, Amarillis, Les Ambassadeurs, Arcangelo, La Cappella Mediterranea, Capriccio Stravagante, Le Centre de Musique Baroque de Versailles, La Chapelle Rhénane, Clématis, Collegium Vocale Gent, Le Concert Spirituel, Le Concert d’Astrée, A 2 Violes Esgales, Dunedin Consort, et les solistes baroques anglais, The English Concert, l’Ensemble Baroque de Limoges, La Fenice, Les Folies Francaises, the Irish Baroque Orchestra, Marsyas, the Monteverdi Choir, Les Musiciens du Louvre, Les Musiciens du Paradis, Les Musiciens de Saint Julien, Les Ombres, Pierre Robert, Pygmalion, La Sainte Folie Fantastique, Scherzi Musicali, La Serenissima, Les Siècles, the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, La Symphonie du Marais…

En 2018, à l’âge de 30 ans, Thomas Dunford crée son ensemble Jupiter où il invite des musiciens extraordinaires et des solistes rencontrés au cours de ses nombreuses années de tournée à travers le monde.

Leur premier enregistrement de Vivaldi, plusieurs fois primé, est sorti chez Alpha en 2019. Leurs prochains projets comprennent un programme autour de Haendel avec Iestyn Davies et Lea Desandre, un programme autour de Monteverdi et “Amazone”, un programme de récital franco-italien avec Lea Desandre, qui sortira à l’automne 2021 chez Erato. Jupiter a déjà été programmé dans les plus grandes salles de concert d’Europe et des États-Unis : Philharmonie de Paris, Philharmonie de Berlin, Auditorium Radio-France, ElbPhilharmonie Hambourg, Carnegie Hall à New York, Wigmore Hall à Londres, Festival de Pâques à Aix-en-Provence….

Pour la saison 2021/22, Thomas Dunford sera en tournée aux Etats-Unis en mars avec Jupiter (Los Angeles, San Francisco, San Diego, Washington, Carnegie Hall à New York…). En octobre, il sera à l’Elbphilharmonie de Hambourg, en décembre au Japon, à l’Oji Hall de Tokyo, en mai au Palau de Barcelone. Il sera également en tournée avec la flûtiste Lucie Horsch, et en juin il sera au Wigmore Hall à Londres et à La Chaux-de-Fonds en Suisse pour un duo avec Jean Rondeau.

Thomas Dunford aime de nombreux genres musicaux, en particulier le jazz, et a travaillé dans des projets de musique de chambre avec des chefs d’orchestre et des solistes tels que Paul Agnew, Leonardo Garcia Alarcon, Nicola Benedetti, Keyvan Chemirani, William Christie, Jonathan Cohen, Christophe Coin, Iestyn Davies, Lea Desandre, Isabelle Faust, Bobby McFerrin, Philippe Herreweghe, Monica Huggett, Alexis Kosenko, Francois Lazarévitch, Anne-Sophie von Otter, Trevor Pinnock, Patricia Petibon, Sandrine Piau, Anna Prohaska, Hugo Reyne, Anna Reinhold, Jean Rondeau, Skip Sempé, Jean Tubéry… Il se produit également très régulièrement avec le claveciniste Jean Rondeau, la mezzo-soprano Lea Desandre et le contre-ténor Iestyn Davies.

Crédits photographiques :
© Stéfan Brion