18 MAY 2021

Mario Brunello
cello piccolo

Mario Brunello is a captivating musician who plays with an expressive freedom rarely found today. The Italian cellist — equally at home as soloist, chamber musician, and project innovator — has been praised by Gramophone for his “great spirit” and described as “intense and passionate” by The Strad.

Brunello made his breakthrough in 1986 as the first and only Italian to win the coveted International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow. Since then, Brunello’s heartfelt playing has earned him appearances with such leading conductors as Antonio Pappano, Valery Gergiev, Riccardo Chailly, Ton Koopman, Riccardo Muti, Myung-Whun Chung and Seiji Ozawa, and concerto performances with many of the world’s foremost ensembles, including the London Symphony, the Philadelphia Orchestra, the NHK Symphony Tokyo, the Kioi Sinfonietta, the Filarmonica della Scala and the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia. As a chamber musician, Brunello has forged fruitful partnerships with Gidon Kremer, Yuri Bashmet, Martha Argerich, Andrea Lucchesini, Giuliano Carmignola, Frank Peter Zimmermann, Isabelle Faust, Maurizio Pollini and the Borodin Quartet. As the creator and artistic director of Arte Sella and I Suoni delle Dolomiti festivals, Brunello has also brought music of the highest calibre to the Dolomite peaks.

Among Brunello’s engagements for the season 2019-20 are concerts in Warsaw with the Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra, in Moscow with the Tchaikovsky Symphony Orchestra and in Yerevan as a guest of the Contemporary Classics Festival. His ongoing collaboration with Kremerata Baltica continues with appearances at the Kronberg Festival — together with Gidon Kremer — and with a tour of South America in the double role of soloist and conductor. Brunello also continues to serve as artist-in-residence of the Philharmonie Zuidnederland.

Brunello plays a precious Maggini cello crafted in the early 1600s. He has, however, grown increasingly fond in recent years of the “cello piccolo”. The cello piccolo — as its name implies, a smaller version of the cello — shares the tuning of a violin, as well as something of the latter’s nimble handling, while retaining much of the resonance and depth of the former. Brunello has exploited the full potential of this instrument in revelatory performances of the baroque violin repertoire, focusing on the masterpieces of Bach, Vivaldi and Tartini.

This season coincides with the 250th anniversary of Giuseppe Tartini, which Brunello will celebrate with an extended homage to the composer, whose works he will perform and record alone as well as in collaboration with the Accademia dell’Annunciata.

His recent recording of Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin, performed on a cello piccolo, represents both the fulfillment of Brunello’s artistic dream and an extraordinary opportunity for the public to discover these familiar works in a deeply expressive and refreshingly new sound experience. This recording inaugurates the new “Bach Brunello” series in collaboration with the Arcana label. The complete three-CD series will feature violin masterpieces on the cello piccolo.

Brunello’s richly diverse discography includes recordings of the works of Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Schubert, Vivaldi, Haydn, Chopin, Janaček, and Sollima. His five-CD set on the EGEA label features his performances of Tavener’s “The Protecting Veil” with the Kremerata Baltica and his award-winning recording of Bach’s Cello Suites. Also worthy of note are his Deustche Grammophon release of Beethoven’s Triple Concerto under the baton of Claudio Abbado; his Dvořák’s Cello Concerto, conducted by Antonio Pappano (EMI); and his stunning live performance video of Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No. 2, conducted by Valery Gergiev in the Salle Pleyel in Paris.

20 FÉV 2021

Mario Brunello
violoncelle piccolo

Mario Brunello est un musicien captivant qui joue avec une liberté expressive rarement atteinte aujourd’hui. Le violon¬celliste italien — comme le soliste, le chambriste et l’innovateur de projets — a été récompensé par Gramophone pour son « grand esprit » et dé¬crit comme « intense et pas¬sionné » The Strad.

Brunello est apparu au grand jour en 1986 en tant que premier et seul Italien à remporter le très convoité Concours International Tchaïkovski à Moscou. Depuis, le jeu sincère de Brunello lui a valu des apparitions avec des chefs de file comme Antonio Pappano, Valery Gergiev, Riccardo Chailly, Ton Koopman, Riccardo Muti, Myung-Whun Chung et Seiji Ozawa, et des concertos avec de nombreux ensembles de renommée mondiale, y compris le London Symphony, le Philadelphia Orchestra, le NHK Symphony Tokyo, le Kioi Sinfonietta, la Filarmonica della Scala et l’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia.

En tant que musicien de chambre, Brunello a établi des partenariats fructueux avec Gidon Kremer, Yuri Bashmet, Martha Argerich, Andrea Lucchesini, Giuliano Carmignola, Frank Peter Zimmermann, Isabelle Faust, Maurizio Pollini et le Quatuor Borodin. En tant que créateur et directeur artistique des festivals Arte Sella et I Suoni delle Dolomiti, Brunello a également apporté la musique du plus haut calibre aux sommets des Dolomites.

Parmi les engagements de Brunello pour la saison 2019-2020 citons des concerts à Varsovie avec l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Varsovie, à Moscou avec l’Orchestre Symphonique Tchaïkovski et à Erevan en tant qu’invité du Festival des Classiques Contemporains. Sa collaboration continue avec Kremerata Baltica se poursuit avec des apparitions au Kronberg Festival — avec Gidon Kremer — et une tournée en Amérique du Sud dans le double rôle de soliste et chef d’orchestre. Brunello poursuit également son rôle d’artiste en résidence de la Philharmonie Zuidnederland.

Brunello joue un violoncelle Maggini précieux fabriqué au début des années 1600. Il éprouve cependant de plus en plus d’affection ces dernières années pour le « violoncelle piccolo ». Le violoncelle piccolo — comme son nom l’indique, est une version plus petite du violoncelle. Il partage l’accordage d’un violon, tout en conservant une grande partie de la résonance et de la profondeur du violoncelle. Brunello a exploité tout le potentiel de cet instrument dans des performances révélatrices du répertoire baroque du violon, en se concentrant sur les chefs-d’œuvre de Bach, Vivaldi et Tartini.

Cette saison coïncide avec le 250e anniversaire de Giuseppe Tartini, que Brunello célébrera avec un hommage prolongé au compositeur, dont il interprétera et enregistrera les œuvres seul ainsi qu’en collaboration avec l’Accademia dell’Annunciata.

Son récent enregistrement des Sonates et Partitas de Bach pour violon solo, interprété sur un violoncelle à cordes piccolo, représente à la fois l’accomplissement du rêve artistique de Brunello et une occasion extraordinaire pour le public de découvrir ces œuvres familières d’une manière à la fois pro¬fondément expressive et rafraîchis¬sante, comme une nouvelle expérience sonore. Cet enregistrement inaugure la nouvelle série « Bach Brunello » en collaboration avec le label Arcana. La série complète de trois CD mettra en scène des chefs-d’œuvre de violon sur le violoncelle piccolo.

La discographie très diversifiée de Brunello comprend des enregistrements des œuvres de Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Schubert, Vivaldi, Haydn, Chopin, Janaček et Sollima. Ses cinq CD sur le label EGEA mettent en vedette ses performances de « The Protecting Veil » de Tavener avec la Kremerata Baltica et son enregistrement primé des Suites pour violoncelle de Bach. Notons aussi la sortie du Triple Concerto de Beethoven sous la baguette de Claudio Abbado, Deustche Grammophon, le Concerto pour violoncelle de Dvořák sous la direction d’Antonio Pappano (EMI), et l’éblouissante vidéo de concert du Concerto pour violoncelle n° 2 de Chostakovich, dirigé par Valery Gergiev dans la Salle Pleyel à Paris.

Abonnez-vous
à notre newsletter